You are here

E-Democracy

Democracy is constituted by democratic processes that follow rules. For a working democracy it is crucial that citizens have trust in the effectiveness and efficiency of these processes. Here, effectiveness means that democracy reaches its goal by representing the peoples' will, while efficiency means that this is achieved promptly and with little cost. Both effectiveness and efficiency can be increased by digitising democratic processes.

Howlett et al. (1995) describe democratic processes as recurring cycles of the following steps: (i) agenda setting, (ii) policy formulation, (iii) decision making, (iv) policy implementation, and (v) policy evaluation. Digitisation and Big Data analysis can support each of these steps, improving participation of citizens and making it more efficient. 

However, Big Data and digitisation raise new issues. The US presidency election in 2016 revealed how agenda setting can be manipulated by Social Media and how this may result in ethically problematic policy formulation. The Brexit vote in 2016 showed that without understanding the consequences, decision making can work against the peoples' intentions. Furthermore, public administration must be digitised in a way that eliminates any unauthorised or unethical spying on citizens. Finally, digitisation and Big Data provide opportunities for policy evaluation, but they require new technologies such as Open Data.  

Goals

In the E-Democracy project we investigate how Big Data and digitisation can shape tomorrow's democracy. The project consists of three layers:

  1. Politically relevant online discourses
    Citizens, organisations, politicians, and others engage in politically relevant online discourses. We aim to analyse these discourses and develop new tools that allow for understanding misinformation, "healthy" vs. pathological discourses, power, and violence. Based on selected discourses we investigate the communicating actors' social and political profiles, their motivations, their objectives, and the effects of their communication.
  2. Political participation
    Online communication extends existing forms of participation and creates new opportunities. Participation can be direct (such as co-creation, co-production, or expressing one's opinion) and indirect (e.g. when citizens provide data). We investigate how new and changing opportunities of digitisation affect the democratic awareness of citizens and how the Web changes the way in which citizens participate in society. Psychological and technical parameters affecting the acceptance of online participation tools will be examined. Based on the resulting understanding of the processes and interrelations we will develop guidelines and tools for citizens and organisations that support online particiation. Big Data will be used as a vehicle for indirect participation (e.g. citizens donating data).
  3. Supporting decision making
    Direct and indirect participation affect how voters ("Whom should I elect?"), elected representatives ("What should I vote for?"), and participants ("How should I take part?") make democratic decisions. We analyse the factors that affect the decision making of both citizens and politicians in the Web. And we develop tools that digitally support the decision making process (e.g. discussion tools, policy modeling and policy simulation, serious games) as well as tools for e-participation (e.g. e-voting, liquid democracy, participation platforms, use of Big Open Data).

Project partners

We aim for an interdisciplinary understanding of our democracy's modes of action in the age of digitisation. Hence, researchers from three different faculties work together in the E-Democracy project.

Web Science: Prof. Dr. Steffen Staab
E-Government: Prof. Dr. Maria Wimmer
Political Science: Prof. Dr. Jürgen Maier
Political Psychology: JProf Dr. Tobias Rothmund

Sie sind hier

E-Democracy

Demokratie konstituiert sich durch regelkonforme demokratische Prozesse. Zentral für das Funktionieren von Demokratie ist das Vertrauen der Bürger in die Effektivität und die Effizienz dieser Prozesse. Dabei bedeutet ‘Effektivität’, dass das Ziel der Demokratie, den Willen des Volkes abzubilden, erreicht wird, und ‘Effizienz’, dass dies zeitnah und ressourcenschonend geschieht. Durch die Digitalisierung demokratischer Prozesse sollen sowohl Effektivität als auch Effizienz gesteigert werden.

Nach Howlett et al. (1995) lassen sich demokratische Prozesse beschreiben als ein nicht endender Zyklus, der aus den folgenden Schritten besteht: (i) Agenda Setting, (ii) Policy Formulation, (iii) Decision Making, (iv) Policy Implementation, (v) Policy Evaluation. Jeder dieser Schritte lässt sich potentiell durch Digitalisierung und die Analyse von Big Data so unterstützen, dass die Beteiligung der Bürgers verbessert und die Effizienz erhöht wird.

Allerdings werfen Big Data und Digitalisierung auch neue Probleme auf. Die abgelaufene US-Wahl zeigt, wie Agenda Setting auch mit Hilfe sozialer Medien fehlgeleitet werden kann und wie daraus ethisch problematische Policy Formulations resultieren können. Die Entscheidung für den Brexit zeigt wie Decision Making ohne Verständnis der Folgen die Absichten der Wählerschaft konterkarieren kann. Eine Digitalisierung von Verwaltungshandeln muss so durchgeführt werden, dass unbefugtes oder unethisches Ausspionieren des Bürgers ausgeschlossen wird und schließlich bieten Digitalisierung und Big Data Ansatzpunkte für die Policy Evaluation, die aber durch entsprechende neue Technologien, z.B. Open Data, auch ermöglicht werden muss.

Zielsetzung

Im Projekt E-Democracy untersuchen wir, wie man mit Big Data und Digitalisierung die Demokratie von morgen gestalten kann, in drei Teilprojekten:

  1. Politisch relevante Online-Diskurse 
    Akteure (Bürger, Organisationen, Politiker etc.) führen politisch relevante Online-Diskurse. Das Ziel ist es, politisch relevante Diskurse zu analysieren, Werkzeuge zu entwickeln, die zum Verstehen von Falschinformation, “gesunden” und pathologischen Diskursverläufen und von Macht und Gewalt beitragen. Anhand von ausgewählten Diskursen wird das soziale und politische Profil, die Motivationen und Zielsetzungen der relevanten Akteure sowie die Wirkung ihrer Kommunikation untersucht.
  2. Politische Partizipation
    Online-Kommunikation erweitert bestehende Beteiligungsformen und ermöglicht neue Beteiligungsangebote. Partizipation kann direkt (Co-Creation, Co-Production, Meinungsäußerung) oder auch indirekt (Bürger stellen Daten zur Verfügung) erfolgen. Es wird untersucht, wie neue oder veränderte Möglichkeiten der Digitalisierung auf das demokratische Bewusstsein von Bürgern einwirken und wie das Internet die direkte Beteiligung der Bürger an gesellschaftlichen Prozessen verändert. Dabei werden sowohl kommunikationspsychologische als auch technische Einflussfaktoren auf die Akzeptanz von Beteiligungsangeboten im Internet untersucht. Das hierbei entwickelte Verständnis der Prozesse und Zusammenhänge mündet in die Entwicklung von Leitlinien und Werkzeugen für Bürger und Organisationen, die die Bürgerbeteiligung über das Internet unterstützen. Big Data ist hierbei ein Vehikel um indirekte Partizipationsformen (z.B. “Spenden” von Citizen Data) zu realisieren und zu nutzen.
  3. Unterstützung von Entscheidungsprozessen
    Direkte und indirekte Bürgerbeteiligung beeinflusst das Treffen von demokratischen Entscheidungen sowohl des Wählers (“Wen wähle ich?”), des Gewählten (“Wofür stimme ich?”) als auch des Mitgestaltenden (“Wie beteilige ich mich?”). Der Schwerpunkt erforscht, welche Faktoren die Entscheidungsprozesse von Bürgern und Politikern im Internet beeinflussen und entwickelt Werkzeuge zur digitalen Entscheidungsunterstützung (z.B. Diskurswerkzeuge, Policy Modeling und Policy Simulation, Serious Games) sowie E-Partizipationswerkzeuge (z.B. E-Voting, Liquid Democracy, Beteiligungsplattformen, Nutzung von Big Open Data)

Project Progress and News

Projektteilnehmer

Im Projekt forschen Arbeitsgruppen aus drei Fachbereichen gemeinsam zum Thema EDemocracy. Ziel ist ein interdisziplinäres Verständnis von Wirkmechanismen unserer Demokratie in Zeiten der Digitalisierung. Projektteilnehmer:

Web Science: Prof. Dr. Steffen Staab
E-Government: Prof. Dr. Maria Wimmer
Politikwissenschaft: Prof. Dr. Jürgen Maier
Politische Psychologie: JProf Dr. Tobias Rothmund