You are here

DFG Project: EXCITE - Extraction of Citations from PDF Documents

The shortage of citation data for the international and especially the German social sciences is well known to researchers in the field and has itself often been subject to academic studies. Citation data is the basis of effective information retrieval, recommendation systems and knowledge discovery processes. The accessibility of information in the social sciences lags behind other fields (e.g. the natural sciences) where more citation data is available. The EXCITE project aims to close this gap by developing a tool chain of software components for reference extraction which will be applied on existing scientific databases (esp. full texts in the social sciences). The tools will be made available to other researchers. The project will develop a number of algorithms for extracting references and citations from PDF full texts. It will also improve the matching of reference strings to bibliographic databases. The extraction of citations will be implemented as a five step process: 1) Extraction of text from the source documents, 2) identification of reference sections in the text, 3) segmentation of individual references in fields such as author, title, etc., 4) matching of reference strings against bibliographic databases, 5) export of the matched references in usable formats and services. Special attention will be paid to the optimization of individual components of the citation extraction. This will be done with the help of machine learning methods which control the quality of the extracted data of the individual components. The extracted citation data will be integrated into the services maintained by the proposers (sowiport and Related­Work.net) and published as linked open data under permissive licenses to enable reuse. The resulting software of this project will be published under open source licenses and made accessible via a WebService API.

Platforms

Excite integrates and develops methods and applies them on several platforms including:

Outcomes

Method for Distantly Supervised Author Extraction from Social Science Research Papers using Conditional Random Fields

To help in the creation of citation information for the German social sciences, we contribute an approach for extracting author names from reference sections. Instead of relying on small amounts of manually labeled data, we use a distantly supervised approach to automatically generate a partially labeled training data set. Generalized expectation criteria provide a suitable objective function to learn conditional random fields (CRFs) using such partially labeled data. The resulting model does not only decide if a word is part of an author, but also separates the listed authors and distinguishes between their first and last names.

Results:

For an evaluation, 54 reference sections were extracted from PDF files as text and authors were manually labeled. The CRF models for the author extraction were learned on up to 16470 reference sections using different configurations. For the classification of the 7055 manually labeled author words, our best model achieves a recall of 95.5% with a precision of 92.5%. The results further suggest ways of influencing the trade-off between the precision and recall of the model based on its configuration.

Publications:

Martin Körner, Author Extraction from Social Science Research Papers Using Conditional Random Fields and Distant Supervision, Master's Thesis, University of Koblenz-Landau, 2016.

Community Workshop 2017 at GESIS in Cologne

General Information

Operational time:

  • September 2016 - August 2018

Financial baker:

  • DFG - Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Partner:

Beteiligte: 

Martin Körner

mkoerner@uni-koblenz.de

Prof. Dr. Steffen Staab

staab@uni-koblenz.de

Dr. Heinrich Hartmann

heinrich@heinrichhartmann.com

Azam Hosseini

azam.hosseini@gesis.org

Dr. Philipp Mayr

philipp.mayr@gesis.org

Behnam Ghavimi

behnam.ghavimi@gesis.org

Sie sind hier

DFG Projekt: EXCITE - Extraction of Citations from PDF Documents

Der Mangel an Zitationsdaten in den internationalen und insbesondere den deutschsprachigen Sozialwissenschaften ist bei Wissenschaftler gut bekannt und oft in akademischen Studien untersucht worden. Zitationsdaten sind u.a. der Ausgangspunkt effektiver Informationssuche, Empfehlungsdiensten und Wissensentdeckungsprozessen. Die Zugänglichkeit von Informationen in den Sozialwissenschaften liegt deutlich hinter anderen Disziplinen (z.B. den Naturwissenschaften) in denen grundsätzlich mehr Zitationsdaten verfügbar sind. Das EXCITE Projekt versucht diese Lücke zu schließen, indem eine Tool-Kette von Softwarekomponenten zur Referenzextraktion entwickelt wird, die auf bestehende wissenschaftliche Datenbanken (insb. Volltexte in den der Sozialwissenschaften) angewendet wird. Die Tools werden anschließend anderen Forschern zur Verfügung gestellt. Das Projekt wird eine Reihe von Algorithmen zur Extraktion von Referenzen und Zitationen aus PDF Volltexten entwickeln und das Matchen der Referenzstrings auf bibliographische Datenbanken verbessern. Die Extraktion von Zitationen wird als ein Fünf-Schritt-Prozess umgesetzt: 1) Extraktion von Text aus den Quelldokumenten, 2) Identifikation von Referenzabschnitten im Text, 3) Segmentierung individueller Referenzen in Felder wie Autor, Titel, etc. 4) Matching von Referenzstrings in bibliographischen Nachweissystemen und 5) Export der gematchten Referenzen in nachnutzbare Formate und Services. Besonderes Augenmerk wird auf die Optimierung der Einzelkomponenten des Prozesses zu Zitationsextraktion gelegt. Dies soll mit Hilfe von Machine Learning Methoden geschehen, die die Datenqualität der extrahierten Daten in den Einzelkomponenten kontrollieren. Die extrahierten Zitationsdaten werden anschließend in bestehende Nachweissysteme der Antragsteller (Sowiport and related-work.net) integriert und als linked open data unter freien Lizenzen zur Nachnutzung publiziert. Die entwickelte Software im Projekt wird zudem als WebService API und Open Source verfügbar gemacht.

Resultate

Methode zur Autorenextraktion von Publikationen in den Sozialwissenschaften basierend auf Conditional Random Fields und Distant Supervision

Um die Erstellung von Zitationsdaten für die deutschen Sozialwissenschaften zu unterstützen, tragen wir einen Ansatz zur Autorenextraktion von Literaturverzeichnissen bei. Anstatt sich auf kleine Mengen manuell annotierter Daten zu verlassen, nutzen wir den Ansatz der Distant Supervision um automatisch teilweise annotierter Trainingsdaten zu erstellen. Generalized Expectation Kriterien bieten eine geeignete Zielfunktion um Conditional Random Fields (CRFs) mithilfe von teilweise annotierten Daten zu lernen. Das resultierende Modell entscheidet nicht nur ob ein Wort Teil eines Autorennamens ist, sondern seperiert auch aufgelistete Autoren und unterscheidet zwischen deren Vor- und Nachnamen. Die Evaluierung unseres Ansatzes zur Autorenextraktion zeigt vielversprechende Ergebnisse. Zusätzlich deutet sie auf einen Weg hin, mit dem der Kompromiss zwischen den beiden Metriken Precision und Recall für das Modell beeinflusst werden kann.

Ergebnisse:

Für eine Evaluierung wurden 54 Literaturverzeichnisse aus PDF-Dateien als Text extrahiert und die enthaltenen Autoren manuell gelabelt. Die CRF Modelle für die Autorenextraktion wurden auf bis zu 16470 Literaturverzeichnissen in verschiedenen Konfigurationen gelernt. Bei der Klassifizierung der 7055 manuell gelabelten Autorenwörter als solche erreichte das beste Modell einen Recall von 95,5% bei einer Precision von 92,5%. Zusätzlich deuten die Ergebnisse darauf hin, dass der Trade-off zwischen Precision und Recall durch bestimmte Konfigurationen direkt beeinflusst werden kann.

Publikationen:

Martin Körner, Author Extraction from Social Science Research Papers Using Conditional Random Fields and Distant Supervision, Masterarbeit, Universität Koblenz-Landau, 2016.

Community Workshop 2017 bei GESIS in Köln

Allgemeine Informationen

Laufzeit:

  • September 2016 - August 2018

Geldgeber:

  • DFG - Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft

Partner:

Beteiligte: 

Martin Körner

mkoerner@uni-koblenz.de

Prof. Dr. Steffen Staab

staab@uni-koblenz.de