You are here

EU Project Horizon 2020: MAMEM - Multimedia Authoring and Management using your Eyes and Mind

Loss of the voluntary muscular control while preserving cognitive functions is a common symptom of neuromuscular disorders leading to a variety of functional deficits, including the ability to operate software tools that require the use of conventional interfaces like mouse, key-board, or touch-screens. As a result, the affected individuals are marginalized and unable to keep up with the rest of the society in a digitized world.

MAMEM's goal is to integrate these people back into society by increasing their potential for communication and exchange in leisure (e.g. social networks) and non-leisure context (e.g. workplace). In this direction, MAMEM delivers the technology to enable interface channels that can be controlled through eye-movements and mental commands. This is accomplished by extending the core API of current operating systems with advanced function calls, appropriate for accessing the signals captured by an eye-tracker, an EEGrecorder and bio-measurement sensors. Then, pattern recognition and tracking algorithms are employed to jointly translate these signals into meaningful control and enable a set of novel paradigms for multimodal interaction. These paradigms will allow for low- (e.g., move a mouse), meso- (e.g., tick a box) and high-level (e.g., select n-out-of-m items) control of interface applications through eyes and mind. A set of persuasive design principles together with profiles modeling the users (dis-)abilities will be also employed for designing adapted interfaces for disabled. MAMEM will engage three different cohorts of disabled (i.e. Parkinson's disease, muscular disorders, and tetraplegia) that will be asked to test a set of prototype applications dealing with multimedia authoring and management. MAMEM's final objective is to assess the impact of this technology in making these people more socially integrated by, for instance, becoming more active in sharing content through social networks and communicating with their friends and family.

For more details please visit the project Website.

Application demonstrations: 

At WeST we currently develop different eye-controlled interfaces as part of MAMEM project. Following are some example demonstrations of 1) Eye-controlled Web browsing 2) Eye-controlled Social media browsing  2) Eye-controlled Gaming

Operating time: 

May 2015 - July 2018

Source of funding:

EU Project Horizon 2020 - The EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation

Partner:

  • CERTH - Centre for Research & Technology Hellas 
  • EB Neuro S.p.A (EBN)
  • SIM GmbH
  • Eindhoven University of Technology (TUe)
  • Muscular Dystrophy Association (MDA) Hellas 
  • Auth - School of Medicine
  • Sheba Medical Center (SMC)

Project home page

 

Prof. Dr. Steffen Staab

B 108
+49 261 287-2761
staab@uni-koblenz.de

Short CV

I have studied computer science and computational linguistics at the Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg and at the University of Pennsylvania. I worked in the previous computational linguistics research group at the Universität Freiburg and did my Ph.D. in computer science in the faculty for technology in 1998. Afterwards I joined Universität Stuttgart, Institute IAT & Fraunhofer IAO, before I moved on to the Universität Karlsruhe (now: KIT), where I progressed from project lead, over lecturer and senior lecturer and did my habilitation in 2002. In 2004 I became professor for databases and information systems at Universität Koblenz-Landau, where I founded the Institute for Web Science and Technologies (WeST) in 2009. In parallel, I hold a Chair for Web and Computer Science at University of Southampton since March 2015.

Research Interests

Data represent the world on our computers. While the world is very intriguing, data may be quite boring, if one does not know what they mean. I am interested in making data more meaningful to find interesting insights in the world outside.

How does meaning arise?

  • One can model data and information. Conceptual models and ontologies are the foundations for knowledge networks that enable the computer to treat data in a meaningful way.
  • Text and data mining as well as information extraction find meaningful patterns in data (e.g. using ontology learning of text clustering) as well as connections between data and its use in context (e.g. using smartphones). Hence, knowledge networks may be found in data.
  • Humans communicate information. In order to understand what data and information means, one has to understand social interactions. In the context of social network knowledge networks become meaningful for human consumption.
  • Eventually meaning is nothing that exists in the void. Data and information must be communicated to people who may use insights into data and information. Interaction between humans and computers must happen in a way that matches the meaning of data and information.

The World Wide Web is the largest information construct made by mankind to convey meaningful data. Web Science is the discipline that considers how networks of people and knowledge in the Web arise, how humans deal with it and which consequences this has for all of us. The Web is a meaning machine that I want do understand by my research.

Where else you might find me?

In my office (room B110), traveling, running in the local forest or in Changa or at AHS. Watch out! 

Dr. Chandan Kumar

B 113
+49 261 287-2767
kumar@uni-koblenz.de

More information: http://chandankumar.net/

Korok Sengupta

B 007
+49 261 287-2719
koroksengupta@uni-koblenz.de

Currently, I am  working in the MAMEM project with Dr. Chandan Kumar and Prof. Dr. Steffen Staab as a Doctoral Researcher. 

I have deep interests in User Experience Design and Application Design User Interaction along with brain signal analysis. 

For more information, you can check here

 

Raphael Menges

B 104
+49 261 287-2862
raphaelmenges@uni-koblenz.de

Sie sind hier

EU Project Horizon 2020: MAMEM - Multimedia Authoring and Management using your Eyes and Mind

Verschiedene Beeinträchtigung der Nervenbahnen können zum Kontrollverlust über die Muskulatur führen bei gleichzeitig intakter Kognition. Betroffene verlieren in einem solchen Fall die Fähigkeit Software zu bedienen, die Maus, Tastatur oder Touch-Screen verlangt. In unserer digitalisierten Welt führt dieser Ausschluss zu einer weiteren Ausgrenzung der Betroffenen.

MAMEM entwickelt Technologien, um Software mittels Augenbewegungen und Gedanken zu steuern und so ihre Kommunikationsfähigkeiten mit der Außenwelt zu erweitern - sowohl für private Zwecks als auch für ihre Integration in die Arbeitswelt. MAMEM hat sich das Ziel gesetzt, existierende Betriebssysteme mit weiteren Möglichkeiten zu versehen, die geeignet sind Signale zu verarbeiten, die von Eye-Trackern, EEG-Geräten oder Bio-Sensoren geliefert werden. Mustererkennungs- und -verfolgungsalgorithmen werden eingesetzt, um diese Signale zu verbinden und in bedeutungsvolle Steuerungen zu übersetzen, so dass eine multimodale Interaktion stattfinden kann. Diese Interaktion umfasst einfache Befehle (z.B. Mausbewegung), mittelkomplexe Befehlt (z.B. Klicken einer Box) und komplexe Interaktionen (z.B. Auswahl von Optionen) durch Augen- und Gedankenbefehle. Verschiedene Prinzipien aus dem Persuasiven Design werden in Verbindung mit Nutzerprofilen eingesetzt, um Software an die Bedürfnisse Betroffener anzupassen. MAMEM entwickelt Interaktionsmethoden für drei Arten von Betroffenen, nämlich Personen mit Parkinson, mit Muskelschwäche und mit Querschnittslähmung. Schließlich wird MAMEM überprüfen, inwiefern einerseits die neuen Interaktionsmöglichkeiten einsetzbar sind und inwiefern sie dem übergeordneten Ziel helfen, Betroffene am allgemeinen Leben in der Gesellschaft leichter teilhaben zu lassen.

Details finden Sie auf der Projektwebseite.

WeST entwickelt derzeit eine Software, die die Steuerung eines Webbrowsers allein durch Augenbewegungen ermöglicht. Das folgende Video zeigt einen Prototypen dieser Software:

Laufzeit

  • Mai 2015 - July 2018

Geldgeber

  • EU Project Horizon 2020 - The EU Framework Programme for Research and Innovation

Partner

  • CERTH - Centre for Research & Technology Hellas 
  • EB Neuro S.p.A (EBN)
  • SIM GmbH
  • Eindhoven University of Technology (TUe)
  • Muscular Dystrophy Association (MDA) Hellas 
  • Auth - School of Medicine
  • Sheba Medical Center (SMC)

Projektwebseite

Prof. Dr. Steffen Staab

B 108
+49 261 287-2761
staab@uni-koblenz.de

Kurzlebenslauf

Ich habe Informatik und Computerlinguistik an der Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg und an der University of Pennsylvania studiert. Ich habe in der früheren Computerlinguistik-Forschungsgruppe an der Universität Freiburg gearbeitet und meinen Dr. rer. nat. in Informatik an der Technischen Fakultät (damals: Fakultät für angewandte Wissenschaften) 1998 erworben. Danach war ich an der Universität Stuttgart, am Institut IAT, und bei Fraunhofer IAO tätig, bevor ich zur Universität Karlsruhe (jetzt: KIT) wechselte, wo ich als Projektleiter, wissenschaftlicher Assistent und Oberassistent arbeitete. 2004 wurde ich zum Professor für Datenbanken und Informationssystem an der Universität Koblenz-Landau ernannt, wo ich 2009 das Institute for Web Science and Technologies (WeST) gründete. Seit März 2015 halte ich außerdem einen Chair for Web and Computer Science an der University of Southampton.

Forschungsinteressen

Auf dem Rechner beschreiben Daten die Welt. Die Welt ist spannend, aber Daten sind ganz schön langweilig, wenn man nicht weiß, was sie bedeuten. Ich interessiere mich dafür, wie Daten spannend werden, indem man ihre Bedeutung versteht.

Wie aber kommt Bedeutung zustande? 

  • Man kann die Bedeutung von Daten und Informationen modellieren. Begriffliche Modelle und Ontologien sind die Grundlage für Wissensnetze, die dem Rechner erlauben bedeutungsvoll mit Daten umzugehen.
  • Text und Data Mining sowie Informationsextraktion finden bedeutungstragende Muster in Daten (z.B. mittels Ontology Learning oder Text Clustering) und auch Zusammenhänge zwischen Daten und ihrer Verwendung im Kontext (z.B. mit Smartphones). So werden Wissensnetze in Daten gefunden.
  • Menschen kommunizieren Informationen. Um zu verstehen, was Daten und Informationen bedeuten, muss man soziale Interaktionen verstehen. Im Kontext von sozialen Netzwerken werden Wissensnetze bedeutungsvoll für Menschen.
  • Bedeutung ist nichts absolut Gesetztes. Letzten Endes muss die Bedeutung von Daten und Informationen wieder an den Menschen kommuniziert werden, der diese Daten und Informationen nutzt. Interaktion zwischen Menschen und Rechnern muss der Bedeutung von Daten und Informationen gerecht werden.

Das größte Konstrukt, das die Menschheit erfunden hat, um Daten mit Bedeutung zu kommunizieren ist das World Wide Web. Web Science untersucht, wie Netzwerke von Personen und Wissen im Web entstehen, wie Menschen damit umgehen und welche Folgen das für uns alle hat. Das Web ist eine Bedeutungsmaschine, die ich durch meine Forschung verstehen möchte.

Wo ich sonst zu finden bin

Wenn ich nicht gerade im Büro oder auf Dienstreise bin, bin ich am Liebsten zum Laufen im Stadtwald, im Changa oder beim AHS. Watch out! 

Dr. Chandan Kumar

B 113
+49 261 287-2767
kumar@uni-koblenz.de

More information: http://chandankumar.net/