Sie sind hier

Advanced Data Modeling

Lecture & Tutorials

Lecturer: Prof. Dr. Steffen Staab

Teaching assistants: Noam Bercovici   Renata Dividino

The lecture and tutorials will be given in English.

Times and locations, starting April 22:

Tue 8-10 weekly B 016
Wed 14-16 weekly E 427

cf. details below

** Next Tutorial in Room A015 the Wenesday 22nd of July at 1200 **

Assignment 9 is online !!!

KLIPS

Reference to Lecture in KLIPS.

Reference to Tutorials in Klips.

Topics

Logics for Data Modeling

  • Paradigm 1: Modell theoretic semantics
  • Paradigm 2: Minimal model semantics
  • Fittings model - a unifying paradigm

Distributed Data Modeling

  • Distributed Join Processing
  • Map/Reduce
  • Pig

Provenance Querying

Classes

Wed April 22, 14-16, Lecture 1, Slides1.pdf

Tue April 28, 8-10, Lecture 2,

Wed April 29, 14-16, Lecture 3, Slides2.pdf

Tue May 5, 8-10, Excercise 1  - Neon Toolkit Presentation Part I, Neon Toolkit Presentation Part II, F-Logic Tutorial, F-Logic Examples

Wed May 6, 14-16, Lecture 4, Slides3.pdf, Slides4.pdf (updated May 13)

Tue May 12, 8-10, Lecture 5, Slides5.pdf (updated May 26)

Wed May 13, 14-16, Excercise 2 - Discussion of Assignment 1

Tue May 19, 8-10, Excercise 3 - Discussion of Assignment 2

Wed May 20, 14-16, Excercise 4 - Practical Assignments, project

Tue May 26, 8-10, Lecture 6, 

Wed May 27, 14-16, Lecture 7, Slides6.pdf

Tue June 2, 8-10, free

Wed June 3, 16-18, Lecture 8 by Prof. Weikum

Tue June 9, 8-10, Excercise 5 - Discussion of Assignment 3

Wed June 10, 14-16, Excercise 6 - Discussion of Assignment 4

Tue June 16, 8-10, Lecture 9, Slides7.pdf

Wed June 17, 14-16, Excercise 7 - Discussion of Assignment 5

Tue June 23, 8-10, Lecture 10, Slides8.pdf

Wed June 24, 14-16, Lecture 11, Slides9.pdf

Tue June 30, 8-10 Excercise 8 - Discussion of Assignment 6

Wed July 1, 14-16 Excercise 9 - Practical Assignment - Cloud Computing Presentation, Hadoop Tutorial, Map-Reduce Tutorial

Tue July 7, 8-10 Excercise 10 - Discussion of Assignment 7

Wed July 8, 14-16 Lecture 12, Slides10.pdf

Tue July 14, 8-10 Excercise 11 - Discussion of Assignment 8

Wed July 15, 14-16 Lecture 13

Tue July 21, 8-10 Excercise 12 - Discussion of Assignment 9 => Moved to Wed July 22 at 1200 in room A015

Wed July 22, 14-16, Questions

Tue July 28, 9-10, Exam

Credits

Credits are earned by passing the exam.

You may earn additional points counting towards the exam by completing the excercise assignments consisting of theoretical and practical excercises.

The assignments sum up to 90 points (10 points pro assignment)

75 > AP >=90 points  0.6 improvement

AP >= 60 points  0.3 improvement

AP - Assignment points

You should actively participate in the excercise group. Each student has to present at least 2 exercises in the backboard during the semester.

The practical assigments are performed using the NeOn toolkit and Hadoop on an excerpt of a Flickr dataset.

Readings

Melvin Fitting: Fixpoint semantics for logic programming a survey. Theor. Comput. Sci. 278(1-2): 25-51 (2002).

Leonid Libkin: The Finite Model Theory Toolbox of a Database Theoretician. Invited Tutorial at PODS-2009. ACM Press.

Lloyd: Foundations of Logic Programming.

François Bry, Norbert Eisinger, Thomas Eiter, Tim Furche, Georg Gottlob, Clemens Ley, Benedikt Linse, Reinhard Pichler, Fang Wei: Foundations of Rule-Based Query Answering. Reasoning Web 2007: 1-153. Springer Verlag, 2007.

Assignments

Assignment 1 , due to 2009-05-12

Assignment 2 , due to 2009-05-18

Assignment 3 , due to 2009-06-08

Assignment 4 , due to 2009-06-09

Assignment 5 , due to 2009-06-16

Assignment 6 , due to 2009-06-29

Assignment 7 ,  due to 2009-07-06

Assignment 8 ,  due to 2009-07-14

Assignment 9, due to 2009-07-22